11th Annual Research Awards Gala Postponed

The ASE Foundation’s Annual Appeal Committee and ASE’s Executive Committee have decided to delay the 2020 Gala event until 2021.

Due to the COVID-19 related travel restrictions and pandemic, the leadership determined it was best to cancel this year’s event. We recognize that the Annual Research Awards Gala is a prestigious event and the 2020 ASE award winners, listed below, deserve the full experience: an evening in their honor, celebrated for their incredible achievements, surrounded by colleagues, friends, and family. With that in mind, we are planning to honor this year’s winners at next year’s Gala during the Boston Scientific Sessions on Sunday, June 20, 2021.

2020 Award Recipients

Excellence in Teaching in Pediatrics Award
Girish Shirali, MBBS, FASE
Children’s Mercy Hospital
Kansas City, MO

Outstanding Achievement in Perioperative Echocardiography Award
Joseph Kisslo, MD, FASE
Duke University Medical Center
Durham, NC

Physician Lifetime Achievement Award
Catherine Otto, MD, FASE
University of Washington Medical Center
Seattle, WA

Cardiovascular Sonographer Distinguished Teacher Award
Merri Bremer, EdD, RN, ACS, RDCS, FASE
Mayo Clinic
Rochester, MN

Richard Popp Excellence in Teaching Award
Partho Sengupta, MBBS, DM, MD, FASE
West Virginia University Healthcare
Morgantown, WV

Meritorious Service Award
Bonita Anderson, M.AAPL.SC, DMU, AMS, ACS, FASE
The Prince Charles Hospital
Brisbane, Australia

The Annual Research Awards Gala is the Foundation’s largest fundraising event of the year, raising an average of $70,000+ towards research. Although it is now cancelled, please know we still continue to pursue our Annual Appeal fundraising goal of $250,000. Thank you in advance for your continued support of the ASE Foundation during this challenging time.