Research Awards

ASEF website_research photo banner

Research Grants

Through its annual research award program, the ASE Foundation preserves dedicated time for researchers working to demonstrate echocardiography’s premier relevance in the changing healthcare environment, and to promote new and innovative applications of the technology. In this era of dwindling government research funding and support for research fellowships, the ASE Foundation plays a crucial role in supporting the progress and future of our field through investment in the discovery process and in the careers of investigators.

Learn more about ASE Foundation funded researchers and their projects here.  Learn more about future funding opportunities at

Freed B “Winning this award helped validate my research interests and instilled a passion for clinical research that did not previously exist.”
Benjamin H. Freed, MD | The University of Chicago, Chicago, IL
2011 ASEF Career Development Award Recipient


Research Investigator Support

The presentation of original research from around the world is an integral component of ASE’s Annual Scientific Sessions. Every year the ASE Foundation coordinates competitions to recognize exceptional research and offers travel grant funding to assist with travel expenses. Young researchers are the scientific heart of our program, and the future of our field.

Abstract Presenter Travel Grants
The presentation of original research from around the world is an integral component of the annual Scientific Sessions. Each year, the Program Committee recognizes a select group of abstract presenters, who each receive $1,000 toward his/her travel expenses.

2014 Recipients:

  • Dragos Alexandru, MD | CHSLI St. Francis Hospital, Cedarhurst, NY
  • Walter L. Beard, MD | University of Mississippi Medical Center, Jackson, MS
  • Nikunj Bhatt, MD | Walter Reed National Military Medical Center, Bethesda, MD
  • Christopher Bugnitz, MD | Nationwide Children’s Hospital, Columbus, OH
  • Nitin Chanana, MD | University of Utah, Salt Lake City, UT
  • Adam James, BA, BAO, MBBCh, MRCPI, LRCSI | Rotunda Hospital, Dublin, Ireland
  • Se Yong Jang, MD | Kyungpook National University Hospital, Daegu, Republic of Korea
  • Sua Kim, MD | Korea University Medical Center, Seoul, Seongbuk-Gu, Republic of Korea
  • Diego Lara, MD, MPH | Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, TX
  • Shuai Liang | Division of Cardiology Shimane University Faculty of Medicine, Izumo, Shimane, Japan
  • Lindsay Mills, MD | University of Alberta – Stollery Children’s Hospital, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
  • Roberto J. Murgas Torrazza, MD | University of Florida, Panama, Panama
  • Aarti A. Patel, MD | University of South Florida, Tampa, FL
  • Nishath Quader, MD | Northwestern University, Chicago, IL
  • Ravi Raj, MBBS, MD | Post Graduate Institute of Medical Education and Research (PGIMER), Chandigarh, India
  • Makoto Saito, MD | Menzies Research Institute Tasmania, Hobert, Australia
  • Irsa Shoiab, BS | Children’s Hospital & Medical Center/University of Nebraska College of Medicine, Omaha, NE
  • Juefei Wu, MD, PhD, FASE | Nanfang Hospital, Southern Medical University, Guangzhou, Guangdong, China
  • Li-Tan Yang, MD | National Cheng Kung University Hospital Dou-Liou Branch, Douliu City, Yunlin County, Taiwan, Republic of China
  • Jeffrey Yourshaw, MD | Penn State Milton S. Hershey Medical Center, Hershey, PA

Click here for a complete list of Abstract Presenter Travel Grant recipients.

TomTec Innovator Research Travel Grants
Supported by a grant to the ASE Foundation from TomTec Imaging Systems, this annual award is given to assist a promising young researcher presenting his/her work at the ASE Scientific Sessions. This application is open to investigators under 40 years of age who have an abstract accepted for publication in one of the following research categories: novel technologies (3D, Doppler, or strain), valvular heart disease, or ventricular function. For more than 20 years, TomTec has driven innovations in echocardiography and the ASE Foundation thanks them for investing in the young researchers who will continue to drive our field forward.
2014 Recipient: Hiroyuki Iwano, MD, PhD | University of Mississippi Medical Center, Jackson, MS


Arthur E. Weyman Young Investigator’s Award Competition (sponsored by the NBE)
This annual competition, sponsored by the National Board of EchocardiographyTM in honor of their first president, Arthur E. Weyman, MD, FASE, recognizes the best science submitted to the annual ASE Scientific Sessions. Four finalists are selected to present their research during the opening plenary sessions of the annual Scientific Sessions.

2014 Winner: Chi Young Shim, MD, PhD │ Oregon Health & Science University, Portland, OregonPlatelet Attachment to Vascular Endothelium Occurs in Both Early and Late-Stage Atherosclerosis Secondary to Dysregulation of Von Willebrand Factor: Evaluation by Contrast Ultrasound Molecular Imaging

Click here for a complete list of the Arthur E. Weyman Young Investigator’s Award winners.


Sonographer Investigator’s Award Competition
This annual competition recognizes non-physicians who served as the primary investigator on their project of original research. Four finalists are selected to present their work to a panel of judges during the annual ASE Scientific Sessions.

2014 Winner: Angela M. Morgan, PGDCU, MHSc │ Capital & Coast District Health Board, Wellington, New ZealandGlobal Longitudinal Strain Differentiates Right Ventricular Pacing Lead Positions

 Click here for a complete list of the Sonographer Investigator’s Award winners.